Are Video Games Art?

This is a conversation I’ve had with multiple people. I’ve discussed it with those that think video games are the new echelon of art and entertainment. I’ve also discussed it with those that think they’re the equivalent of empty calories for the brain. I’m here to offer my own opinions and insights, however helpful or insipid you might find them.

Are you interested in my opinions? Well, you’re reading my blog so I’m going to assume you are.

I would argue that video games weren’t originally produced with the intention of them becoming art. The 8-bit pixels that made Mario and Pikachu were designed to create nostalgia, entertainment, and fun. Art may have very well been the last thing on developers’ minds.

As video games have progressed and expanded over the past decades, however, society has witnessed a substantial paradigm shift. Video games stopped being solely about creating an environment of fun. Developers began hiring professional writers, voice actors, and musicians to take the reigns. Stories became more in-depth, more prone to tug at the heartstrings of players. Music moved from technical sounds and jargon to fluent orchestral scores. Plots moved from simple text-based conversations to epics told through the voices of people like Patrick Stewart and Sam Worthington.

You can probably already tell where my devotions lie. Yes, I do believe video games are a form of art. I think to say differently is to rob a lot of people of months of dedicated work. Video games have opened new realms of artistic design for individuals to explore and indulge. Freelance writers, composers and actors now have a new venue to pursue. It may not carry as much clout as a major motion picture or having your face on the cover of People Magazine. But in time, who knows?

I think a few video games are definitely worth mentioning. Shadows of the Colossus set a new standard for graphical quality, scale, and the creation of a fantastic story through limited conversation. Bioshock was the marriage of two very opposing styles of art held together by impeccable storytelling and plot twists. Enslaved proved that old classics could be retold through modern interpretation and phenomenal voice acting. Portal showed society that humor is still a viable asset when connecting his/her art to the audience.

Those are just a few examples. Several other games, such as Fallout and Limbo, have pushed boundaries and forced us to rethink exactly what it is we consider art.

On that note, I believe art often boils down to exactly what the beholder thinks of it. To try and boil down art to a singular genre or style is to limit oneself. Don’t believe me? Compare a Rembrandt and a Jackson Pollock. A Beethoven and a Lady GaGa. An Emily Dickinson and an Edgar Allan Poe. All of these have the word “art” in common, yet all of them are sublimely different.

Art was created for our enjoyment. If you can enjoy a video game for its artistic qualities in addition to its ability to captivate your attention and time, more power to you. I certainly do.

And for those of you who don’t think video games are art, I have two words for you. It’s okay. Art is as much up to you as it is to me. To me, saying that you prefer other forms of entertainment over video games is like saying you prefer meat over vegetables or black over white. Your opinions help shape the person that you are, and that is a beautiful thing. We should attempt not to impose our opinions as superior to our neighbor’s. There are times when a decision must be produced through hard evidence. But there’s nothing intrinsically wrong with agreeing to disagree.

I invite anyone who feels led to add to this conversation to post their replies below. Thank you for taking the time to read my opinions. They are certainly important to me!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment